Developmental versus chronological age an aspergers, autism, high functioning autism symptom

Have you ever thought that your kid and or adult with aspergers syndrome, high functioning autism, and or pure autism aren’t the same developmental age as their chronological age? Well, you are most likely correct. I’ve noticed an 8 to ten year old delay versus developmental and chronological age. If your 12 year old is acting like a 6 year old, that’s normal for those on the spectrum. For some reason that I can’t explain we age faster chronologically than our minds develop than the average human. Why? Our minds are different. I am not developmentally and chronologically the same, but in some areas I understand things that most people don’t understand in their entire life. Understanding theoretical physics, easy, understanding computer code and writing my own, easy, understanding every second of life is precious because life can stop at any second, easy for me. I love every minute of life, even if I am not developmentally age I actually am.

How should you deal with a 15 year old who acts 7? Don’t treat them like an average 15 year old. Treat them at the age they are, but change for each age of each different part of their mind. They will most likely be younger in all areas, so just be understanding, kind, and nice. If you have any questions just ask me. I have a really busy schedule, but I’ll do my best to get back to you!

Tagged , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Developmental versus chronological age an aspergers, autism, high functioning autism symptom

  1. asdmommy says:

    Sometimes this is the most challenging part of life with my C. I feel like I live with a ten year old child who is sometimes 5 and sometimes 15. It makes it interesting, but also difficult for me as a parent to parent him successfully. My favorite thing about it, however, is his innocence. He has no interest in Batman or Star Wars or other such things that most boys love. He is completely offended by cursing. He has no idea about the boy/girl thing. He still wants his Mommy to snuggle with him all the time, and I just love it.

    • Well, you have to keep a log of different things and what age he is in each area. That way it won’t be as confusing for you. We are complex individuals, because we aren’t the norm. Anything that isn’t the norm, is looked upon as hard and difficult. Your son C is very fortunate to have someone understanding of aspergers. I’ve met parents who aren’t. If there is a topic you want me to write about from an aspie point of view, please let me know & I’ll see if I have enough experience in that area to write an informative piece.

Leave a Reply

