Analyzing aspergers behaviors by people watching to improve social skills

I analyze everything. I am told so often that I over analyze things. That might be true, it might not. By analyzing everyone’s behaviors, especially other aspies and those on the autistic spectrum you gain an invaluable insight. You will notice that they do a lot of the same things you do, but you can analyze it from the outside and see how it actually looks and why people react the way they do. It’s like an out of body experience watching others with aspergers and social interaction. It Helps me change my own behavior to be more socially appropriate. Encourage your child with aspergers to observe others and see how people react & then have them try to explain what they saw that seemed odd. They may say nothing or that normal people are the weird ones. I do have to agree with the fact that some of the “norm” behaviors are quite bizarre. Anyways, please comment and tell me if you used this social experiment and what the outcome was.

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “Analyzing aspergers behaviors by people watching to improve social skills

  1. alienhippy says:

    Hi there,
    Thanks for leaving a comment on my blog, I’m glad you enjoyed the post.
    I learnt to conform to the unwritten rules of society by imitating my NT Mom. However I find doing this extremely draining and now I am older I am learning to just be myself. To allow myself to be Autistic. Allow myself to be who I am created to be.
    My Mom was extremely loving and accepting of all people, so I had a wonderful example. My Dad is Autistic and I know that he would never intentionally hurt anyone but he doesn’t accept others and because of this he has lived a very isolating life.
    So I agree that it is good for all on the spectrum to people watch and analyze. We have to really, it doesn’t come naturally to us. I love communicating and being involved but I can only be around people for so long. I find the online Autism community, through my blog the most wonderful way of feeling that what I have lived is worth something. Helping others understand gives me a lot of encouragement. It is also helping me to heal from all the hurt.
    Thanks for the post, it made me think…we are good at thinking aren’t we…🙂
    Love and hugs.
    Lisa. xx🙂

Leave a Reply

