Aspergers Suppress emotions– aspergers very emotional

Suppressing emotions is part of Aspergers syndrome, without realizing you’re doing do it. I know I’ve written about this before, but those with Aspergers syndrome, or high functioning autism can have an emotionless appearance is a front to hide our true emotions, because we don’t know what to do with them. We are very emotional, see, this is how it works, someone says something that hurts our feelings, you act like it doesn’t bother you, until they’re out of sight then you shutdown. You can shutdown when people are being mean to you or if you’re overwhelmed, usually overwhelmed. A shutdown helps you process everything that is happening and try to understand the emotions you’re feeling. a shutdown consists of not talking, staring into space, sometimes mumbling, it depends from person to person. You may need a neurotypical person to help you out in a shutdown, but they shouldn’t be bothered until they talk to you that just angers them. You do your best not to show emotions, because you don’t understand emotions and they seem like flaws so you hide them for as long as possible.
Discussing logical stuff is good, but sometimes emotions just come spewing out, despite your attempt to hide them. It is actually healthier to show emotions, but not in front of people you don’t know that well. I hope my discussions on emotions with aspergers or lack of emotions helps someone.

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “Aspergers Suppress emotions– aspergers very emotional

  1. Melissa says:

    I am hypersensitive to emotions, my own and others. I work on accepting feelings and going into feeling the feeling in my body and trying not to dwell on self or other depreciating stories. Hormonal cycles just intensify the experience to the point where I feel overwhelmed. When I am around people a lot I get tired and feel more down on myself for being so sensitive and over thinking things. I was going to write a post about it today, but I don’t feel I have the energy to focus well enough to do that. Shutting down and shutting out feels like a necessity at times.

Leave a Reply

