Being Bullied Because Of Autism / Aspergers

Okay, I am writing this because I am ticked off. When someone who is deemed normal bullies people with autism and Aspergers, well that’s not normal, that’s cruel. Bullying is quite bad and cyber-bullying can be even worse since you can’t see your foe.

Why am I ticked off? Because a search query that lead someone to my site was”death to someone with Aspergers”, not cool!!! A lot of queries my blog receives have to do with people with autism and Aspergers not feeling pain. Some people want to know how we don’t feel pain. While i have written many articles on this myth, I will reiterate.We do feel pain, that’s why cyber-bullying and real life bullying is so painful. We may not show our pain, because We are able to cloak our emotions for a little while, so it seems like we aren’t in pain or are incapable of feeling emotions, but we always reach a boiling point. It’s not fun for anyone when we go into a meltdown due to being bullied.

My message to people who want to bully people with Aspergers is an intellectual one. Instead of bullying us, learn about us. If you don’t want to learn about us and Aspergers syndrome , then leave us alone. We like being left alone.

Sorry about this rant, I am just trying to let invisible trolls know that i dont tolerate their behavior.

Again, I apologize that this post isn’t helpful to the Asperger, autism, and PDD NOS community. The next post will be helpful, at least I will mean for it to be helpful.

Tagged , ,

4 thoughts on “Being Bullied Because Of Autism / Aspergers

  1. John says:

    Asperger’s is not so unlike autism in that one of the core features of autism is self injurious behaviors. These behaviors are rooted in dopamine and serotonin dsyfunction, whereas the autistic person may not be able to hide this self injury, the higher level of functioning and awareness present in people with Aspergers gives them the advantage of hiding these behaviors.

    —— note by blog owner: This is the sole opinion of the commenter. I, the blog writer do not agree with this comment. —–

  2. Malc's Mom says:

    Thanks for insight into your world & how can I have a bond or communicate better with my 15 yr old that was recently diagnosed

    • Hi Malc’s Mom. While I can’t guarantee that my blog will help you communicate with your teen better, I do address communication a lot, and I mean a lot in this blog. Here are some tips that should help you out a lot.

      1. Don’t use figures of speech, like ” killing two birds with one stone” or “there’s more than one way to skin a Cat”. Avoid figures of speech at all costs. They’re confusing. Don’t expect an aspie or someone in the autistic spectrum to get the tone of your voice means something or an expression on your face means something. Verbalize what those expressions and tones are really trying to communicate.

      2. I assume your 15 year old has an interest or perseveration. Try to understand what they’re interested in. More than likely you’ll find it to be boring, tedious, and quite complex. My perseveration has turned into a company and I am respected or tolerated to some degree in my field.

      I know what I do is extremely complex to most, but that didn’t stop my parents from learning about it, so they have an idea as to what I am talking about. We can talk about things that are very complex that I am working on, because they took the time to understand my perseveration. I encourage you to do the same with Malc.

      That should help you out a lot, at least I hope it will.

  3. Kim says:

    It is apparent you interpreted the search query ”death to someone with Aspergers” as a threat. I would like to suggest that your literal mind is leading you astray in a harmful way on this. I do not have Asperger’s and I interpret this query to mean “what does the concept of death mean to a person with asperger’s” which would be quite a reasonable thing to need to know if for instance, you needed to tell your daughter their pet or their grandparent had a terminal illness or something like that.

    I am very much enjoying your blog and am learning so many revelations about my own family. I realized only yesterday that my husband and one of my two daughters have some degree of very high functioning Asperger’s. Your blog talks about so many subtle issues and now so many things that my husband and daughter do make sense. My husband is a genius and in the past I have always just decided he was intellectual, quirky, and eccentric… Much the way geniuses can know any topic in granular depth yet have trouble with day in and day out simple tasks. Your blog helps me have much more patience and understanding. And it lets me realize it’s not my lack of genius/intellectualism that makes me think of things “differently” than my husband… it’s really my husband’s brain wiring that makes us think so differently. This gives me more of a feeling that we are more equal and makes me more contented in our relationship, now on its 20th year…

Leave a Reply

