Aspergers black and white logic doesn’t work

The Aspergers mind thinks in a black and white format. Well, most aspies think in black and white. This makes a lot of sense to us, yet when my body is in sync with the ocean I realize that is illogical.

I talk about the medical Benifits the ocean has on the body in other blog posts. It somehow syncs your mind and calms your body.

Black and white logic makes sense to your mind. If someone says they are going to do something and they don’t do it then they lied. Well, when your in tune with the ocean you are able to see that there are so many other factors besides what someone said. Yes, someone may say something and when they say it they mean it. Outside forces or unexpected events make them unable to keep their word. This isn’t lying rather a change in events that they couldn’t control. My mind has trouble seeing the difference if I am not in tune with the pull of the tide and the moon.

Sorry I haven’t posted for awhile. I’ve been very busy running my company. I hope this blog post has been helpful.

Tagged ,

14 thoughts on “Aspergers black and white logic doesn’t work

  1. Alex Jones says:

    I observe that people with aspergers rely on stable patterns, but when those patterns become chaotic (like the ocean) then it can upset them.

    • Interesting observation. Incorrect, but interesting. Stable patterns are important, yes. The ocean however is not chaotic. If you read about the moon and the tides you’ll learn a lot. We are 65 percent water, so the moon and tides control us to a degree. The closer you are to the ocean or other large bodies of water the more in sync your mind and body become. You don’t even have to see the ocean to feel the effects.

  2. loubyjo says:

    from a very lomng time ago peope have commented i think black and white no grey this was long before diagnosed as an aspie

  3. Melissa says:

    Very good observation. I’ve often been told I only see in black and white, or that I have an all or nothing attitude. I also totally agree about the ocean. Getting in water in general helps me, though the ocean has a particular restorative effect. When possible I get my head under water. I love when I can see beyond my sometimes limited perspective (as brilliant as it may be). I would rather have understanding and compassion than be right.

    • Sometimes being wrong is so much better than being right! Especially in my line of work. I wish I am wrong, but I am usually not. The only time I’m usually wrong is when I have to do my work blindfolded so to speak.

    • Melissa says:

      sometimes though, I do get really caught up in wanting someone to see a point that I know is really true, and very logical, and even which would have a positive impact on the overall goal… however, I seem to run into people who cannot really follow anything more than one level deep… so trying to communicate is pointless at times. Better to have understanding and compassion than be right… but I don’t always remember that

      • I’ve found the best way to communicate with one level deep people or as I say “humans” is through a metaphor or analogy. They really get analogies, although you have to make it downright stupid. Almost everyone can understand my analogies.

      • Melissa says:

        Ahh yes, that is true. When I’m inspired I can come up with some great ones. Usually when I have a concept in mind I will visually see reflections of that in nature and can relate it to something that way. It’s funny though, you could be telling someone how to solve the very core of what they see as their their problem in life and rather than listen they’ll keep going over why they already know the problem can’t be solved.
        So I have learned, just because people express a problem and I see a solution, doesn’t mean people want to hear it. I’ll redirect the insight to see where I can apply it to myself or my own life instead. And then just give them what they really want, which is usually just someone to listen.🙂

      • What you said about people not listening reminded me of a DR. who quote. “frightened humans.. I’d take a dalek anyday!” Daleks are a race who purged theirself of any and all emotions. If you aren’t a dalek they either exterminate you or turn you into a dalek. He is saying that he hates frightened humans, because they are irrational.

        People who don’t understand something and have decided there is no solution or worse they decided they know the solution are like frightened humans. They are frightened, because they don’t understand something & refuse to hear otherwise.

      • Melissa says:

        Since one cannot convey understanding to someone in fear, I find it much better to just purge myself from fear and let them come to understanding on their own, or get curious and ask. Any sort of perceived threat to the thought system one identifies with raises defenses and hardens the mind to the current position. I’ve gotten caught up in the same closed mindedness and fear. I used to think I wanted to help people, but I was trying to change something outside of myself rather than look at it within myself.

  4. Oceanview says:

    Melissa, that is beautiful what you wrote. “just because people express a problem and I see a solution, doesn’t mean people want to hear it. I’ll redirect the insight to see where I can apply it to myself or my own life instead. And then just give them what they really want, which is usually just someone to listen. ”
    I relate to that as a Life Consultant.

  5. Oceanview says:

    Aspergerssearch, I love this comment of yours, “If someone says they are going to do something and they don’t do it then they lied. Well, when your in tune with the ocean you are able to see that there are so many other factors besides what someone said.”
    This is profound. I resonate with the ocean, and will use this idea when working with all of my clients, not just Aspies.

Leave a Reply

