Eat everything or Eat Nothing

I’m not sure if I’ve covered the two extremes that come with Aspergers, but the topic sums it up. If you have Aspergers you eat everything or eat nothing. Well, you have to eat and your parents ignore your “humans can survive 5 weeks without eating. Food isn’t important.” speech that they hear at least 3 times a week.

The fact is that I like food my brain just doesn’t tell me that I am hungry or that I am full. I’m saving the not knowing when you are full for another blog post. I eat everyday. I usually eat lunch and dinner.

I decided that whoppers, the chocolate malted candies had enough protein and calories in half a box to be my dinner. My mom disagreed. I ate half a box of whoppers anyways and then dinner.

The issue with food is that you get so focused with your perseveration that it isn’t relevant. You forget about it. I am constantly reminded to eat. I like food, I believe I made that clear in the whopper scenario, but if I didn’t I’ll make it clear. When I order a large pizza I’ll eat 6 slices and save the rest for everybody else. I can eat an entire large pizza in one sitting. My mind doesn’t tell me when I am full, so I have to be somewhat careful. I know I can eat an entire pizza without an issue. I can eat half a pizza and 12 things of
Dessert at a party without a problem. I don’t consider a sugar high a problem. Everyone else may disagree.

Those who see me at a party think I eat a ton and have no idea how I am so skinny. I don’t perseverate about food. Others I know do. They eat everything in sight. It doesn’t matter how much they eat, they’ll just keep eating. It is due to Aspergers. You either are extremely flaming liberal about food or you’re extremely conservative about food until you break out of a perseveration.

Don’t believe me? Fine. Surf the web. You’ll find out I’m right.

Tagged , ,

3 thoughts on “Eat everything or Eat Nothing

  1. Alex Jones says:

    Do Aspergers people have a sense of limits or boundaries?

    • Interesting question. You can train yourself to learn that stuff. It takes years to learn. By default you don’t know limits or boundaries. You can learn it of you’re willing to put in the hard work.

  2. loubyjo says:

    being a diabetic as well as an aspergic umm its true to some extent I like a wide variation of foods but tend to eat the ssame foods over and over i got rid of my oven awhile back as just hate cooking dont mind eating but not the cooking as it takes to long i just decide I am going to eat NOW

Leave a Reply

