Retraining Aspergers Mind Part 2

Retraining the Aspergers mind isn’t easy. People still call me a genius way too often and say I am like Sheldon from Big Bang Theory. I am not a genius. I’ve spent years retraining my brain and can now give hugs without going into a meltdown. I wrote an entire article about how to give a hug.

Training yourself to look in someone’s eyes is kinda tricky. You have to remind yourself not to look at their shoes, look into their eyes. If you avoid eye contact, people think you have something to hide.

Not everyone can retrain their brain and most won’t put in the painstaking time , effort, and deal with the mental fatigue it causes.

I’ll share another tidbit tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

