Why I avoid Aspergers Research And Hide My Aspie Identity

I had an interesting comment by a Mr. Kent asking why I don’t take part in Asperger research. Unfortunately, I haven’t been able to approve Mr. Kent’s comment, because he puts his email in the comment area.  I will not email anyone, because I want to stay a secret. Why I want to stay a secret and Asperger research tie together pretty well. Most researchers see you as a specimen. I am not a specimen or something to be analyzed. I am a living human being. With that said, I know at least one person I consented to research me reads this blog.

Another reason I don’t do research is because I want to stay a secret. If I came out as having Aspergers, well, it could potentially affect  me in the niche industry I am in. Sure, a few people in my industry know, but they aren’t going to say a word about it, because they understand why I keep my Aspergers a secret. I know others suspect it, because after working with me a few times they start to make sense, avoid figures of speech, and treat me how people who do know my secret treat me.

It sucks that I have to keep a condition out of my control a secret, but I know other people with other differences who have reasons to hide their differences and were very uncomfortable when I told them I had figured them out.

If you think about it, people don’t like things that are different. When you offer someone a piece of fruitcake they refuse it, because it is different and they’ve heard bad things about it. Same goes with Aspergers. If something is different, you hide it from the public eye.

So if I want to stay a secret, why do I write a blog? Because I want to educate others. I hope people here who don’t know me and the very few who know about this blog and do know me will not try to expose me. Besides people in my industry like to remain unseen most of the time and just do what we do.

One thought on “Why I avoid Aspergers Research And Hide My Aspie Identity

  1. Mark kent says:

    one reason why i take part in research is

    LIKE YOU, I WOULD LIKE PEOPLE TO BE AWARE UNDERSTAND EVERY DAY EFFECTS .. MOST PEOPLE ARE

    VERY VERY SNOTTY NOSED ABOUT AUTISM/ASPERGERS AND M.E. I HAVE AS WELL ..PEOPLE SEE A PERSON

    IN A WHEELCHAIR .NO ARM OR NO LEG.. PEOPLE DO..NOT..SEE EVERY DAY EFFECTS OF AUTISM/ASPERGERS OR

    M.E,my point is made and it is very very good view.

    mark kent________________________________ > Date: Sun, 15 Dec 2013 19:55:37 +0000 > To: mkentdad12@outlook.com >

Leave a Reply

